Copperplate Mail Order » Shop » Concertina » The McCarthy Family Album
Loading Updating cart...

Jacqueline, concertina, Marion, uilleann pipes & tin whistle, Bernadette, fiddle, Tommy Junior, fiddle.

Archive material from Tommy McCarhty Senior, concertina and tin whistle.

With guest musicians

Tommy Keane, concert flute and fiddle, John Giles, tin whistle, Henry Benaugh, fiddle

and Louise Costello, button accordion

We are delighted to announce our release of this classic recording.

Poll Halpenny:

The Tempest:

Tommy McCarthy's:

  1. My Love is in America / The Milliner's Daughter.
  2. Poll Halpenny / Mrs. Galvin's.
  3. Statia Donnelly / The Humours of Ennistymon.
  4. The Tempest / The Steampacket.
  5. The Ace and Duce of Piping.
  6. The Drunken Landlady.
  7. John Henry's / Kiss the Maid Behind the Door.
  8. Will You Come Home with Me? / Garrett Barry's.
  9. Down the Back Lane / Petticoat Loose.
  10. An Buachaill Dreoite / Kitty Got A Clinking Coming From the Fair
  11. The Mountain Top / The Clare Reel.
  12. The Gold Ring.
  13. The Shyan Hornpipe.
  14. Tom Ennis / Old Tipperary.
  15. The Pinch of Snuff / Come West Along the Road.
  16. The Standing Abbey / Scully Casey's.
  17. The Rolling Wave / Alexander's March.
  18. The Bank of Ireland / Bonnie Anne.
  19. The Humours of Ballyloughlin.
  20. Last Night's Fun / The Pullet.
  21. The Foxhunter's.
  22. Tommy McCarthy's. Composed Charlie Lennon

Press Reviews

Irish music has gone through significant changes since the early 1960s and sadly, local styles are dying out. Many of the older musicians have passed away and these days outside influences are a common part of Irish music. It is so refreshing to hear unaccompanied music played at such a high standard, with great care and respect for the tradition. The pace of this recording is always comfortable, never rushed. The tune selections are excellent, the combination of instrumentation is a delight, and the musicians treat each tune with great respect. I am delighted to write these words in support of this wonderful recording. James Kelly.This album (the fourth from Maree Music) features The McCarthy Family. This is their first complete recording together - having been heard previously on Jacqueline McCarthy's album The Hidden Note (MMCCD 53 available from Copperplate Distribution) which was released in 1999. The four McCarthys - Jacqueline (concertina), Marion (uilleann pipes and tin whistle), Bernadette (fiddle and piano) and Tommy Jun. (fiddle) - can be heard in solo, duet and group performances. Their four partners - Tommy Keane (concert flute and fiddle), Johnny Giles (tin whistle), Henry Benagh (fiddle) and Louise Costello (button accordion) - are also featured.

The music on the album is a celebration of the rich legacy passed on by their father - Tommy McCarthy Sen. from Shyan, Kilmihil in Co. Clare. It is fitting that three archive recordings of Tommy - on concertina and tin whistle - are included. While raising the children in London, Tommy and his wife Kathleen nurtured their musical talents by constant contact with musicians in London and Ireland. These included Bobby Casey, Máirtín Byrnes, Raymond Roland, Paddy Taylor, Willie Clancy and John Kelly.

All but two of the twenty-two tracks are unaccompanied and there is a varied use of instrumentation throughout the recording. The tunes played are largely associated with a Clare repertoire and a new composition by Charlie Lennon - dedicated to Tommy McCarthy Sen. - is also included.

Copperplate is very proud to have this title on our roster and to help it achieve its full potential will be supporting this release with a full-scale promotional mail out to media and retail.

Price: £13.99

Loading Updating cart...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *